Guide to North Georgia Fishing & 2000-2001 Georgia State Fishing RegulationsInformation and content provided by the Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Division
Click here for a complete listing of license fees.
YOU CAN NOW BUY A FISHING LICENSE THREE WAYS
- 1,200 license dealers statewide (WRD offices, major retailers, sporting goods, bait & tackle, marinas, and hardware stores)
- Telephone 1-888-748-6887
- Internet www.permit.com
Resident Georgia fishing licenses are available throughout the state from approximately 1,800 license dealers in many sporting goods stores, marinas, bait and tackle stores, hardware stores, etc. Most license dealers also sell nonresident licenses.
All licenses may be purchased in person or by mail from the Department of Natural Resources, License Unit, 2189 Northlake Parkway, Suite 108, Bldg. 10, Tucker, Georgia 30084 or at Department Law Enforcement offices. Orders by mail must include the applicant's name, address, date of birth, weight and height with the proper payment.
Please call 1-888-748-6887 to purchase your Fishing and Hunting licenses by telephone.
NOTE: Proof of residence, such as a Georgia driver's license, is required when purchasing a fishing license.
Resident anglers, 16 years of age or older, are required to have a current Georgia fishing license in their possession while fishing in freshwater and saltwater in Georgia, EXCEPT: a fishing license is not required when fishing in a private pond. This does not include ponds owned by governments (city, county, Federal or the State of Georgia).
Residents 65 years of age or older possessing a Senior (65+) Lifetime License may fish the freshwaters of Georgia without obtaining any other stamps (trout or WMA). This license can be obtained from most license dealers by furnishing proof of age (driver's license or birth certificate). Residents that are permanently and totally disabled may obtain a Disability Honorary Combination Hunting & Fishing License by applying to the License Unit (see address under Buying Licenses). Proof of age or disability must accompany the application. Certification of disability may come from the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Social Security Admin., Railroad Retirement System or another government agency. If unable to obtain certification from any of these agencies please contact the License Unit (see address under Buying Licenses).
Persons that are blind can apply for a lifetime Honorary Fishing License and must provide a Physician's certification of blindness with the application.
NOTE: Georgia DNR has signed "Reciprocal Agreements" with Alabama, Florida, North Carolina, and South Carolina that allow holders of Georgia fishing licenses to fish in the waters covered without obtaining a fishing license from the bordering state. See Reciprocal Agreements.
Nonresidents under 16 years of age do not require a fishing license, EXCEPT to fish in trout streams or to fish for or possess trout (see TROUT LICENSE). This does not include ponds owned by governments (city, county, Federal or the State of Georgia).
Nonresidents under 16 years of age do not require a license or permit: exception (see trout license)
Florida residents 65 years of age or older - see Reciprocal Agreement with Florida.
College students (US citizens) enrolled full-time who are residing within the state may purchase a resident fishing license. A current and valid student identification must be shown when purchasing a resident fishing license.
Military persons on active status stationed at a military base in Georgia and their immediate family members may purchase a resident fishing license. A current and valid military I.D. must be shown when purchasing a resident fishing license.
Any violation of Georgia fishing laws or regulations can cause revocation of license.
the Sportsman's License includes: Combination Hunting & Fishing License, trout license, Big Game License, Archery License, WMA Stamp and Waterfowl Stamp. If purchased separately, these would cost $64.50, but you can save $4.50 by purchasing the Sportsman's License and get all your licenses at one time!
All resident anglers between the ages of 16 and 65 must have a trout license attached to a valid Georgia fishing license to fish in designated trout waters and to fish for or to possess trout.
Resident honorary license holders are not required to have a trout license.
Landowners and their immediate families may fish without a trout license on their own property.
All nonresident anglers, regardless of age or physical condition, must possess a nonresident fishing license and nonresident trout license to fish for or possess trout or to fish in designated trout waters.
Florida residents, regardless of age, must possess a nonresident trout license to fish for or possess trout or to fish in designated trout waters.
STATE PARK VISITORS are not required to have a trout license to fish in the impounded waters of the park.
LOST YOUR LICENSE?
If you bought your license over the internet, you can replace it by printing another if you book marked your original.
If you bought your license by telephone, call 1-888-748-6887 for information on replacement.
If you bought your license at a license dealer, obtain a "Request for Replacement/Refund" form from a license dealer and mail to the License Unit, DNR, 2189 Northlake Parkway, Suite 108, Building 10, Tucker, GA 30084. There is a $3 replacement fee for each form submitted, regardless of the number of licenses to be replaced.
To fish immediately, you must purchase a new license and request a refund for the second license by submitting a "Request for Replacement/Refund" form.